The Way the World Is: The Maggie Boylan Stories

The Way the World Is: The Maggie Boylan Stories

Set in Appalachian Ohio amid an epidemic of prescription opiate abuse, Michael Henson’s stunning collection of linked stories tells of a woman’s search for her own peculiar kind of redemption. Addict, thief, liar, lover, loser, hustler, Maggie Boylan is queen of invective and sultana of insult. But she is also a woman of deep compassion and resilience. Her journey is by turns frightening, funny, and deeply moving.

About the Author
Michael Henson is the author of Ransack (West End Press, 1980), A Small Room With Trouble on My Mind (West End Press, 1983), Tommy Perdue (MotesBooks, 2012), and several books of poetry. The Way the World Is: the Maggie Boylan Stories is the 2014 winner of the Brighthorse Prize for Short Fiction. He has worked as a teacher, a factory hand, a community organizer, and a substance abuse counselor and is a member of the Southern Appalachian Writers Cooperative. He lives in Cincinnati.

His riveting book is now available on

Follow Me

One thought on “The Way the World Is: The Maggie Boylan Stories

  • March 1, 2015 at 9:56 pm

    The topics, and themes remind me of Christina Schutt’s Nigthwork! I’ll have to check this one out, sounds great!


Leave a Reply