James Hearst Poetry Prize Deadline Oct 31

James Hearst Contest Ad

All winners and finalists will be published in the Spring 2015 issue. 

  • First Prize $1000
  • Second Prize $100
  • Third Prize $50

2015 Hearst Judge:
D. A. Powell

Entry Guidelines for the 2015 James Hearst Poetry Prize
Deadline: October 31st, 2014

Entry fee: $20.00

All entry fees include a one-year subscription. This year, all submissions to the James Hearst Poetry Prize will be handled through our online submission system. (Click here to access the submission system.)

If you have problems with the online submission system or are unable to upload your submission, please call us at 319-273-3026 for other entry options.

Rules: You may enter up to five poems in one file. No names on manuscripts, please. Your poems will be “read blind.” Simultaneous submission to other journals or competitions is not allowed.

Tips: We have noticed that long poems rarely do well—too much can go wrong in a large space. Poems that have reached the finalist stage in our competition in the past are typically one to two pages (often much shorter). Winning poems always balance interesting subject matter and consummate poetic craft. We value both free verse and formal poems in rhyme and meter—both open and closed forms.

Questions? EMAIL nar@uni.edu • PHONE 319-273-6455 • FAX 319-273-4326


2014 James Hearst Poetry Prize Winners

Martha Silano, First Place Winner

Congratulations to the winners! They have been published in the Spring 2014 issue, available now.

First Place: Martha Silano, “Ode to Frida Kahlo’s Eyebrows”

Second Place: Mark Wagenaar, “A Brief Report on Cosmology, Fate and Human Frailty”

Third Place: Carolyne Wright, “Ghazal for Emilie Parker”

Honorable Mention: Brittney Scott, “Cosmogony”

Honorable Mention: F.J. Bergmann, “Rejection Sestina”

Finalists of the 2014 James Hearst Poetry Prize.

Shivani Mehta, “How to Write a Love Letter”

Patricia Colleen Murphy, “Rank Bitch”

Jennifier Militello, “Leitmotif of the Mothers”

Heather Altfeld, “Ex Ode”

Sharon Hashimoto, “The Bus Driver’s Wife”

Cynthia Wyatt, “Eat”

Ann Hudson, “Spring”

Jenifer Browne Lawrence, “Candling”

Casey Thayer, “Samson”

Tess Barry, “Deciduous”

a.j. Hennessy, “Lucky to be pretty”

Chelsea Wagenaar, “Mother”

facebook linkedin twitter

Follow Me
Latest posts by Superstition Review (see all)

Leave a Reply