2012 Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize Invites Entries

Canadian literary magazine, The Malahat Review invites entries from Canadian, American, and overseas authors for its Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize. One award of $1,000 CAD is given.

The Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize is awarded to the best work submitted to the magazine’s annual contest for a genre that embraces, but is not limited to, the personal essay, memoir, narrative nonfiction, social commentary, travel writing, historical accounts, and biography, all enhanced by such elements as description, dramatic scenes, dialogue, and characterization.

The award is named after Constance “Connie” Merriam Raymond Rooke (1942-2008), former Fiction Editor for The Malahat Review.

The deadline for the 2012 Creative Nonfiction Prize is August 1, 2012 (postmark date).

This year’s judge will be Madeline Sonik. See Guidelines for more a complete description.

Previous Constance Rooke Creative Nonfiction Prize Winners:

The Walrus launches $5,000 poetry prize

The Walrus, “a national interest magazine about Canada and its place in the world,” has launched The Walrus Poetry Prize. The contest is open to all residents of Canada 18 years of age or older as of June 1, 2012, except employees or retirees of the Walrus Foundation or the Hal Jackman Foundation.

The Juried Winner will receive $5,000, and his or her poem will be published in the December issue of The Walrus.

Finalists will be chosen by 2010 Griffin Poetry Prize winner Karen Solie and Walrus poetry editor Michael Lista. The finalists’ poems will be posted on The Walrus’s website, where visitors can vote for their favorite through the $1,000 Readers’ Choice award. The Readers’ Choice Winner — to be determined by PUBLIC VOTE — will receive $1,000.

$25 entry fee includes a one-year, 10-issue subscription to or renewal of The Walrus magazine.

Entries will be accepted at this website by July 31,2012.

Finalists will be announced Sept. 1, when voting will commence for the Readers’ Choice award. Both winners will be announced Oct. 18 at an event in Toronto.

For more information, read Michael Lista’s kickoff POST on the Walrus Blog.

For full contest rules and regulations, click HERE.

Please address questions and comments to POETRYPRIZE@WALRUSMAGAZINE.COM.